Hafiz, The Great Iranian poet

If you remember, previously I  had written a post about Iranian celebrities . I was informed that one of Iranian great poets is Hafez.

Hafiz tomb in Shiraz
Here is a poem of Hafez that has been translated into English:
If a thousand enemies are intent on my demise
With you as my friend, fear won’t arise.
I’m alive with the hope of union with thee
Every moment I fear death, otherwise.
Breath by breath, your scented breeze I must inhale
Moment by moment, from sorrows exhale my cries.
Only dreaming of you, go to sleep my two eyes
Patiently longing for thee, my heart to itself lies.
Don’t pull away your rein when you cut me with your sword
My head is my shield, while my hand your saddle-strap ties.
Where can we see your face just as you are, true and pure?
Each based on his own grasp can realize.
Indigent Hafiz is the apple of people’s eyes
At your door, prostrated, your vision espies.
Leave a Reply

